enfin's reality, pop culture

EGYPT

Yesterday during assembly we were presented with a brief summary of what is going on in Egypt right now, and for me, it was troubling and heartbreaking.  I had been watching the news, reading a lot of BBC articles, and I definitely didn’t think myself entirely clueless of the whole issue, but for some reason, upon watching a movie on some of the riots that happened last week, I found my entire body erupting in goose flesh, with a terrible ominous knot forming in my stomach.  I wish so much that I could help the people of Egypt.  Even with the news that President Mubarak announced he wouldn’t be running for re-election in the fall, I still am not pleased.  So many aspects of what is going on bothers me.  Perhaps one of the most trivial aspects seem to have struck a deep chord within me.  Bloggers are arrested and detained in Egypt and are not charged for any specific crime.  As a blogger myself, this is a difficult concept to fathom, seeing as I’m a US citizen and I’m granted free speech rights, I can’t imagine being thrown into prison for posting something as simple as saying “fuck vegans”.  I want to make a difference.  I want to help the people of Egypt, because currently, I have this terrible taste in my mouth, and upon returning from HMUN on Sunday, I realize the power of diplomacy.  I realize the influence that one person has over the remainder of the world.  So what can I do? What can you do? I’m sure that this is something that everyone is struggling with at this moment.  I’m sure that most Americans watch the news, feel terrible, and consider writing to their senator.  But honestly, what good is that? Letters do have a positive effect, but I think there needs to be some other thing that people can do to get involved.  Personally, I’m considering hosting a fundraiser to benefit the Public Transparency & Accountability in Egypt by America’s Development Foundation.

As discussed at HMUN in the UNDP Committee, education is key for the general populace of every nation.  If Egypt is to make the transition from a corrupt society to one that is just and prosperous, the people must know how to hold the government accountable.  While riots have proven to be effective in this case, they do cause a lot of  damage, and they deepen the preexisting rifts between people and government ultimately translating into little trust between both parties.  Without trust the government cannot serve the people, and the people cannot work with the government.  That’s why educating the people of Egypt is imperative in creating a successful nation that will be able to gain global prominence in the future.  That is why I personally support the America’s Development Foundation to educate on Transparency and Accountability in Egypt.

As far as a fundraiser, I’m still planning, but I’m looking to host an evening event, perhaps at the Salt Institute, where all proceeds go to the ADF to implement this program.  I’d like to incorporate guest speakers, traditional Egyptian food, and perhaps an art exhibit (if possible- or a movie screening) of Egypt in it’s glory- or perhaps not in its glory.  Please contact me if you’re interested in taking part, without people’s help how can we expect the implementation of beneficial knowledge and public awareness campaigns in Egypt? It takes one to start a revolution, but it takes the support of many others to make the revolution successful and continuous.

click here to read about ADF

click here to read about public transparency and accountability in egypt

Standard

Leave a Reply

