enfin's reality

indian summer spent in the mountains

this past weekend i traveled to northern new hampshire and eastern vermont all to celebrate the indian summer with my dearest A and go antiquing.  i took a roll of film, which i will be sending out soon, but for the meantime, i thought i might as well add the photos i took with my canon. 

I left school without going to yoga so I could catch a 3:30 bus to Boston and then a 6:15 bus to Littleton, NH.  I fancied myself a seat next to a rather dashing young student at Bowdoin, and for a good two hours, engaged in an enlightening conversation about deviled eggs and marriage.  After we parted, I ran to purchase my ticket to the North Country and made the bus with five minutes to spare.  It took a good hour and a half to get out of Boston, seeing as rush hour in the city is wretched on any Friday during the fall.  Perhaps three hours after leaving the city, I found myself waking up just as the bus pulled into the gas station in Littleton, where A was waiting.  I was desperate to see how beautiful the North Country is, but seeing as it was close to 10pm, I couldn’t enjoy the scenery.  Instead I found myself sitting at a wonderful little cafe called Social with A until the early hours of Saturday eating burgers and sharing our recent lives with one another.  Soon after I retired to a warm bed and slept until my heart’s content.

A brought me to five different antique shops over the weekend, but the ones in Bethelehem were fantastic.  I was given a bunch of old stills from this wonderful man named Roland, and I spent sometime at the Bethelehem Farmer’s MKT.  A little later on, A & I got coffee at Maia Papaya, and then we drove out to Vermont for an Indian Summer Party.  The drive over was beautiful.  All the trees were full of fantastic aged leaves, colored with gold, crimson, and burnt sienna.  The house was only a mere 20 miles away from our B&B but it took us a good hour to get to the cabin.  When we got there, we spent a while stacking our hostess’ wood, and sitting by the woodstove, looking out the huge bay windows, which held the most spectacular view of the green mountains. 

 

Sunday brought an excursion to Littleton, which consisted of the Littleton Farmer’s market where A & I got some bread from an organic farmer from Vermont, which was decked out in brown sugar and pecans, and then a long afternoon spent at Just L. antiques and the Littleton Bookshop.  We also ventured inside of Chutters, which is home to the longest candy counter in the world, where I snagged some old favorites and new favorites as well! Then we finally made our way to the Mountain View- a hotel which I now despise after a terrible experience, and indulged in some spicy wings on the porch which was facing Mt. Washington.  We also took sometime to read in the Eisenhower Library and play chess on a human size board.  We ended our night watching Mad Men and eating Chicken Pot Pie in bed.  Did I mention that this hotel is haunted? Well, it is.

I will scan my film from the trip once I get it back, but with that being said, I’m sure I’ll have better photos from this upcoming weekend posted before those!! Tonight consists of take out from Veranda, Fantastic Mr. Fox, and The September Issue.  Who knows what tomorrow brings.

enfinlove

Standard

Leave a Reply

